When more space is needed in the VOB storage directory, consider
removing unneeded versions from one or more elements in the VOB
Scrubbing removes only those artifacts that can be regenerated. Scrubbing
never removes elements or versions. Because elements and versions are historical
data, you should approach their removal with extreme caution. Removing entire
elements with
cleartool rmelem is particularly
dangerous:
- Even if an element is no longer needed for ongoing work, you might need
it to reproduce and maintain earlier work.
- rmelem removes the element’s name from all directory
versions in which it was ever cataloged. This erasing of history means that
the element is not displayed in listings or comparisons of previous directory
versions. Removing an element’s name from a VOB directory, by using the rmname command,
preserves its history but removes its name from subsequent versions of the
directory.
- A mistake can be costly; the procedure for recovering a single element
from backup is cumbersome and cannot be used in a UCM component. (See Restoring an individual element from backup.)
If you need to reclaim disk space in source pools, it is more prudent to
remove individual versions of elements, rather than entire elements. The rmver command
makes it easy to remove versions that you believe you will probably never
need again.
By default,
rmver removes only versions that meet the
following criteria:
- Versions that are unrelated to branching (not located at a branch point
and not the first or last version on a branch)
- Versions that have no metadata annotations, such as version labels, attributes,
or hyperlinks
With various rmver options, you can force removal of
versions that do not meet these criteria. See the rmver reference
page for more information.
You can also use the cleartool relocate command
to move entire VOB directories and all the element versions they contain from
one VOB to another. For more information, see Relocating elements to another VOB.