The clearviewupdate command
provides a graphical user interface to the update command.
For one or more loaded elements, clearviewupdate does the
following:
- Reevaluates the config spec to
select versions of loaded elements in the VOB and loads them if they differ
from the currently loaded element versions.
- Unloads the file or directory
from the view if a loaded element is no longer visible (that is, a new directory
version does not have an entry for the element). To unload a directory element, ClearCase does
the following:
- Recursively deletes all loaded
elements
- Renames the directory to directory-name.unloaded if
necessary, which preserves all view-private files and view-private directories.
- If the version in the snapshot
view is different from the version in the VOB selected by the config spec,
copies the version selected by the config spec into the view. The version
in the view can be different if, for example, the selected version in the
VOB is newer, or if a label is attached to the selected version in the VOB,
but not to the version in the view.
clearviewupdate does
not apply to files or directories that are checked out to the current view.
If clearviewupdate cannot
access a VOB (perhaps due to problems in the network), any elements from that
VOB remain loaded, but are put in a special state (rule unavailable).
The clearviewupdate command
accounts for the fact that VOB elements specified by your config spec may
change while an update is in progress. To avoid loading an inconsistent set
of element versions, clearviewupdate ignores versions that
meet both of the following criteria:
- The version is selected by a config
spec rule that specifies the LATEST version label.
- The version was checked in after
the moment the update operation began.
clearviewupdate also
accounts for the fact that the system clocks on different hosts may not be
synchronized.