After you check out a file, you usually modify it and then check it in. If you decide not to check in your changes, you can cancel your checkout and thereby omit any changes that you made.
Use the Undo Checkout command to cancel the checkout of one or more file elements in the VOB.
The Undo Checkout command is available from:

You have an option to save to a temporary location the work that you are canceling.