Checking out files

You check out a file that is open in an Office application when you want to change it.

  1. Click ClearCase > Check Out. The Check Out window opens.
  2. Add comments about the new version.
  3. Optionally, in the Check Out window, change the checkout from reserved to unreserved by clearing the Reserved check box. When you check out a file, unless you specify otherwise, the checkout is reserved. A reserved checkout gives you the exclusive right to perform the next checkin. Only one checkout can be reserved on a branch.
  4. Click OK.
    Remember: An unreserved checkout does not guarantee the right to perform the next checkin. If several people have a file checked out as unreserved, the first person to check in the file creates the new version. The other people who are changing the file in their own views must merge that new version into their own work before they can check in their changes.

For more information, click Help in the Check Out window.

Related tasks
Canceling checkouts
Checking in files
Finding checkouts
Version tree of an element
Merging versions of a file

Feedback