About deactivating Rational ClearCase integrations

If you work from a snapshot view and you disconnect your computer from the network, you must deactivate the Rational® ClearCase® integrations with Windows Explorer and other developer tools.

Most Rational ClearCase operations communicate with various Rational ClearCase servers. Even if you install view server software on your host, almost any time you start a Rational ClearCase operation (even an operation as simple as displaying the ClearCase shortcut menu from Windows Explorer) your host must connect to the Rational ClearCase license server. The Rational ClearCase integration with Microsoft Visual Studio attempts to connect to the license server periodically. If you are disconnected from the network, the application that attempts to connect to the Rational ClearCase license server locks for several seconds until it returns an error message. Although the application does not fail, such interruptions are unnecessary.

Related tasks
Setting up the Visual Studio integration
Changing Visual Studio defaults

Feedback