Reconnecting messages

In sequence diagrams, you can change the source lifeline or target lifeline of a message to reconnect the message to the new lifeline.
To reconnect a message to another lifeline:
  1. Open a sequence diagram that contains existing lifelines and messages.
  2. In the interaction frame, complete one of the following steps:
    • To reconnect a message to a different lifeline, click a message handle and drag it to another lifeline. The message is reconnected to the new lifeline.
    • To reconnect a message on the same lifeline, click a message handle of a synchronous, asynchronous, or destroy message and drag it to the same lifeline. The message becomes self-directed and the send message appears higher than the receive message.
Related tasks
Creating synchronous or asynchronous messages in sequence diagrams
Adding create or destroy messages to lifelines in sequence diagrams
Moving synchronous messages
Reordering messages
Deleting messages from sequence diagrams and projects
Assigning operations to messages in sequence diagrams
Delaying the receipt of asynchronous messages in sequence diagrams

Feedback