Reordering messages

In sequence diagrams, you can move a message across other messages and interaction fragments on the same lifeline or on another lifeline to reorder the message. After a reorder, the message number automatically indicates the updated position on the lifeline.
To reorder a message:
  1. Open a sequence diagram that contains at least two lifelines with messages.
  2. In the interaction frame, click a message and move it up or down on a lifeline across other messages and interaction fragments. A reorder occurs and the moved message appears in the new location. The messages and interaction fragments that were below the reordered message maintain their original position.
Restriction:
  • You cannot directly reorder a skewed asynchronous message. For the message renumbering to occur, you must move the other messages around it to change the skewed order.
  • You cannot change the order between a send message and a return message.
Related tasks
Creating synchronous or asynchronous messages in sequence diagrams
Adding create or destroy messages to lifelines in sequence diagrams
Moving synchronous messages
Deleting messages from sequence diagrams and projects
Reconnecting messages
Assigning operations to messages in sequence diagrams
Delaying the receipt of asynchronous messages in sequence diagrams

Feedback