Specifying delete options for obsolete UML-to-Java transformation output

If you delete source model elements, you can specify whether or not the corresponding Java files that the transformation generates should be deleted when you reapply the transformation.

When the UML-to-Java transformation generates classes, operations, and fields, it assigns the @generated tag to these elements. The next time that you run the transformation, the transformation overwrites these elements. When you delete elements from the source model and reapply the UML-to-Java transformation, the transformation deletes previously generated fields and methods that still have the @generated tag and that no longer have a corresponding source model element. However, for files that the transformation generates, you can specify whether or not to delete files.

Specify delete options in the Transformation Configuration editor or wizard, on the Properties page.

  1. In the Project Explorer view, right-click a transformation configuration file; then click Open.
  2. Click the UML to Java Options tab.
  3. On the UML to Java Options page, complete one of the following steps:
    • Click Ask before deleting obsolete generated files.
    • Click Always delete obsolete generated files.
    • Click Never delete obsolete generated files.
  4. Click File > Save.
The options are applied the next time that you run the transformation.
Note: If you create a new transformation configuration, you can specify this information on the UML to Java Options page of the New Transformation Configuration wizard.

Feedback