Classify an Activity or Task

Classifying a record helps managers enter the record into workflow and escalate the activity for further attention. If you want to group activities or tasks together, you can do so by their classification, as well as by their Work Type. Classification also is a condition used when searching for applicable price schedules, response plans, or service level agreements.

When you assign a classification to a record, you copy the full path leading to that classification. You can see each level in the classification hierarchy.

You can classify or change the classification of a record until you change the record status to CLOSED. You might need security authorization to classify a record.

To classify an activity or task:

  1. Display the record that you want to classify.

  2. In the Classification field, specify a classification. If there is a customer on the activity or task, the classifications that belong to that customer or its parent customer are listed here, as well as global classifications. If there is no customer on the activity or task, then only global classifications are listed.

The classification attributes are copied to the Specifications tab.

  1. Click Save Activity .

To clear the classification of an activity or task:

  1. Display the record whose classification you want to clear.

  2. In the Classification field, click Detail Menu and select Clear Classification.

  3. Click Save Activity .

See Also

Add/Modify Activity Attributes