Customers on changes

The customer associated with a change in the Changes (SP) application determines the classifications, attributes of classifications, assets, locations, and configuration items (CIs) that are processed with the change. The customer also determines users who can see the change record.

When you create customer records, you create detailed agreement and pricing information for the customer and the services that you expect to provide. By associating customers with changes, you can provide the appropriate response to the customer at the specified location, for the specified assets, and with the specified configuration items. You keep the change actions limited to the appropriate records based on customer filtering. You associate customers with assets, locations, and CIs in the Assets (SP), Locations (SP), and Configuration Items (SP) applications.

When you associate customers with changes, you also can keep the change records restricted to the users who have permission to access the data of a particular customer. You associate customers with users in the Security Groups (SP) application.

When you create a change, information about the primary customer on the location, asset, or CI is copied over copied to the change. The combination of location, asset, and customer on the change is used to determine the best matches when a service desk agent or workflow process searches for service level agreements, price schedules and response plans.

You can create a change for a location, asset, or configuration item, These items must be associated with an active customer in order for the customer information to be copied to the change. The lowest level of these items on a change determines the customer on the change, as follows:

The customer on the change also determines the classifications, and attributes of classifications, that the change can process. All changes can use global classifications and global attributes. When you want to use customer-specific classifications or customer-specific attributes, the customer on the change (or parent of the customer) must match the customer on the classification or attribute.

Adding, changing, or removing a customer on a change can affect the classification and attributes of the change when the change is classified. The classification or one or more attributes might no longer be relevant to the new customer, and the classification might have attributes that are now relevant to the new customer. However, classifications and attributes are never automatically removed from or added to a change when you change a customer association. You change the customer on a change by changing the value in the customer field directly, or by changing the location, asset, or CI that determines the customer on the change. If you do so, you should first remove any classifications from the change, and then re-apply the appropriate classifications after the new customer is selected.

You can apply a customer agreement or price schedule to a change if the change has an active, customer associated with it.

If the customer on the change is derived from an asset or location, the cost center and customer charge account from the asset or location are copied to the change.

See Also

Apply Customer Agreement

Changes (SP) Application