Delete a Classification

You can use classifications with many objects such as assets, work orders, tickets, and solutions. If you are currently using a classification with any object, you cannot delete the classification. The same rule applies to children or subclassifications: if you are actively using them, you cannot delete them.

When you delete a classification, you also delete any children that belong to it. Customer associations created for the classification, its descendant classifications, its attributes or its descendants attributes are also deleted.

You delete a classification from the Classifications tab of the Classifications (SP) application.

To delete a classification:

  1. In the Classifications (SP) application, display the classification record you want to delete.

  2. From the Select Action menu, select Delete Classification. You receive a message: Are you sure you want to delete this record? Click Yes.

Note: If the classification is associated with any object, you cannot delete it.