Associate Users and Custodians

You can associate a person with a location as a custodian, as a user, or as both. These associations are useful when a service desk agent or system process is identifying a location that needs service or work.

A user is a person who uses the location but is not responsible for it. A custodian is responsible for the care of the location. A location can have multiple users and custodians. You also can designate one person as a primary contact for the location. By default, the first person that you associate with the location is designated as the primary contact. You can change this designation.

To associate a user or custodian with a location:

  1. In the Locations (SP) application, display the location for which you want to associate users and custodians.

  2. From the Select Action menu, select Associate Users and Custodians to open the Associate Users and Custodians dialog box.

  3. Click New Row.

  4. In the Person field, enter the person to associate with the location, or click Detail Menu to select an option and retrieve a value.

  5. To designate the relationship of the person to the location, select either or both of the following check boxes:

  6. Select the User check box to designate the person as a user.

  7. Select the Custodian check box to designate the person as a custodian.

You can designate one or more people as users and custodians.

  1. To designate a person as the primary contact, select the Primary check box. The Primary check box for any person previously designated as the primary contact is cleared.

  2. Click OK to save the associations.

To remove the association of a user or custodian from a location:

  1. In the Locations (SP) application, display the location for which you want to remove users or custodians.

  2. From the Select Action menu, select Associate Users and Custodians to open the Associate Users and Custodians dialog box.

  3. For each person that you want to remove as a user or custodian, select Mark Row for Delete . To cancel the deletion, click Undo Delete .

  4. Click OK to remove the association from the location.