You can change the status of multiple work orders manually. In some situations, the status of the work orders changes automatically. For example, after you assign an owner to multiple work orders, the status of those work orders automatically changes to QUEUED. All globally related work orders automatically update when you change the status of multiple global work orders.
You might need security authorization to change a status manually.
On the List tab in the Work Order Tracking (SP) application, select the Select Records check box at the bottom of the page. A check box opens next to each record on the List tab.
Select the work order records whose status you want to change.
Note: To select a record, click the Select Record check box. To cancel a selection, clear the check box. To select all records in the result set, select the check box next to the column header.
From the Select Action menu, or in the Toolbar, select or click Change Status to open the Change Status dialog box.
In the New Status field, enter a value or click the arrow and select a new status.
Optionally, you can change the date in the Date field and enter information about the status change in the Memo field.
Click OK to apply the status change and update the Status field.
Note: If you change records to a RESOLVED status, and you are the designated owner of those records, you might want to stop the timer or otherwise report time spent resolving the issues.
When work orders reach a status of RESOLVED or CLOSED, related activities (which are work orders) are updated to reflect the RESOLVED or CLOSED status.
In some cases, a follow-up record might change the status of its originating work order. The service desk administrator configures these options.
The system might be configured to route a record automatically when its status is changed or to notify another party of a status change. See your service desk administrator for assistance.