Close a Work Order

Use the Change Status dialog box to change the status of one or more work orders to Closed (CLOSE). The Closed status finalizes a work order. When you close a work order, the system removes inventory reservations, if any, for items that were not used on the work order, and makes the work order a history record. To modify a closed work order, choose Edit History Work Order from the Select Action menu.

If you change the status of a work order that has child work orders with their Inherit Status Changes? check box selected, the system also applies the status change to the child work orders, if appropriate.

You can change the status of multiple work orders at the same time on the List tab, or you can change the status of a displayed record.

To close work orders:

  1. On the List tab, filter the list to display the records whose status you want to change.

  2. Select the Select Records check box at the bottom of the List tab.
    Note:
    You may need to narrow your result set before you can select records.

  3. To select a record, select the Select Record check box. You can select more than one record. If you want to select all of the records in the list, select the Select All Records check box in the title row of the table window.

  4. From the toolbar, click Change Status to open the Change Status dialog box.

  5. In the Status field, select CLOSE from the drop-down list.

  6. You can modify the date in the Status Date field, and you can use the Memo field to add a notation about the status change. The system copies this memo to the Memo field of the Status History window.

  7. To change the status, click OK.

To return to the record without changing the status, click Cancel.

To close the current work order:

  1. Display the record you want to complete.

  2. From the Select Action menu, select Change Status.

  3. In the Change Status dialog box, in the Status field, select CLOSE from the drop-down list.

  4. You can modify the date in the Status Date field, and you can use the Memo field to add a notation about the status change. The system copies this memo to the Memo field of the Status History window.

  5. To change the status, click OK.

To return to the record without changing the status, click Cancel.

See Also

Edit Work Order History